Full View of Record

Check Availability Lawrence Library / Main Collection: PS3613.A272525 M46 2011Library Info

Author LinkMachart, Bruce.
Title LinkMen in the making : stories / Bruce Machart.
Imprint Boston : Mariner Harcourt, 2011.
Description 190 p. ;  22 cm.
Type of Material Book
Contents Contents: Where you begin -- The last one left in Arkansas -- Because he can’t not remember -- Something for the poker table -- We don’t talk that way in Texas -- The only good thing I’ve heard -- An instance of fidelity -- Monuments -- Among the living amidst the trees -- What you’re walking around without.
Summary "From the author of The Wake of Forgiveness ten remarkable stories that tackle what it means to be a man. Whether they find themselves walking the fertile farmland of south Texas, steering trucks through the suffocating sprawl of Houston, or turning logs into loose leaf in the mills just west of the Sabine River, the men of these stories find themselves beset by the insufficiencies of their own ingrained ideas of manhood. Like Richard Russo, Bruce Machart has a profound knowledge of the male psyche and a gift for conveying the absurdity and brutality of daily life with humor and compassion. Alternately lush with lyricism and starkly candid, these stories emerge from inside a vividly scrutinized everyday of farms, refineries, hospitals, and homes to explore what it means to be a man at the rise of a new millennium. What it means to be a man who can’t protect his wife from violence, or protect his children from tragic accidents, or protect himself from loss and heartbreak. Machart’s characters have a deep and abiding humanity that makes their hardscrabble lives all the more unforgettable"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject LinkMen -- Identity -- Fiction.
Subject LinkMen -- Identity.

System Number 000680486
ISBN Link9780156034449

Choose format: Standard Card catalog Citation Name tags MARC tags

Library home | Hours | Directory | Maps | Ask...