Full View of Record

Check Availability Lawrence Library / Main Collection: QE523.T285 K55 2013Library Info

Author LinkKlingaman, William K.
Title LinkThe year without summer : 1816 and the volcano that darkened the world and changed history / William K. Klingaman and Nicholas P. Klingaman.
Edition 1st ed.
Imprint New York : St. Martin’s Press, 2013.
Description 338 p. ;  25 cm.
Type of Material Book
Bibliography Note Includes bibliographical references (p. [311]-323) and index.
Summary In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year, mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. The Year Without Summer examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.
Subject LinkTambora, Mount (Indonesia) -- Eruption, 1815.
LinkVolcanoes -- Indonesia -- Sumbawa Island -- History -- 19th century.
LinkWeather -- Effect of volcanic eruptions on -- Case studies.
Add.Author LinkKlingaman, Nicholas P.

System Number 000663045
ISBN Link9780312676452 : $27.99
Link031267645X : $27.99

Choose format: Standard Card catalog Citation Name tags MARC tags



Library home | Hours | Directory | Maps | Ask...